THE Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust research team has been shortlisted for a number of awards.

The team has been shortlisted in six of the twelve categories for staff nominations organised by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Thames Valley and South Midlands awards.

The research team were nominated and shortlisted for the all-round high performing team and contribution to Covid-19 research.

READ ALSO: Whitley: Body found in garage in Newcastle Road.

In addition to the team awards, a number of clinical members of the team were shortlisted including Dr Liza Keating and Dr Matthew Frise in the award category of outstanding principal investigators and Caroline Higgins and Steve Foley as outstanding research champions.

Elizabeth Taylor and Jess Caterson have both been recognised and nominated as rising research stars in the region and Susanna Malakorpi for her contribution as a research nurse.

The ‘Recovery Trial’ which is looking into treatment options for Covid-19 was shortlisted in the category of ‘study of the year’.

Locally this is led by Dr Matthew Frise, consultant in acute medicine and intensive care, and involved a number of departments and staff across the Trust who consented participants into the study.

Royal Berkshire Hospital was delighted to hear that this study has also been shortlisted as well.

Dr Atul Kapila, director of research and development said: “This is an amazing achievement to be recognised, nominated and shortlisted for so many awards.

READ ALSO: Reading's top bars and pubs as rated on Tripadvisor.

"I am incredibly proud of the team and department for work they have done and how it has improved care and increased our understanding treating a number of health conditions, and the benefits it has bought to so many of our patients.

"This recognition is so well deserved and I wish them all the very best at the awards in September.

“Everyone should be proud of their achievements.

"Along with colleagues across the Trust, they have all demonstrated tenacity, compassion, resourcefulness and excellence in delivering on Covid-19 research.”

The awards are to be held on Wednesday, September 30, 2020.