More than half of schools in Reading will be shut after two of the country's biggest teaching unions announced a day-long strike.

Thousands of children will be affected across the borough when members of NASUWT and the NUT, which represent 90% of teachers, walk out in a dispute over pay and pensions.

We've got the full list of all the major primary and secondary schools closing below.




Secondary Schools


Blessed Hugh Faringdon - CLOSED (except for years 10 and 11 and sixth form)

Highdown - CLOSED (except for sixth form)


Kendrick - CLOSED (except for sixth form)

Prospect - CLOSED (except for year 11 and sixth form)

Reading Girls - CLOSED (year 11s can come in for private study)

Reading School - OPEN

Cranbury College OPEN

The Avenue - CLOSED

Phoenix College - OPEN


Primary Schools


Alfred Sutton - CLOSED (except for years 3, 5 and 6)

All Saints CofE - OPEN

All Saints Junior - OPEN

Battle Primary Academy - OPEN

Caversham Park Primary - CLOSED

Caversham Primary - OPEN

Christ the King - CLOSED

Churchend Primary - OPEN

Coley Primary - OPEN

Emmer Green Primary - CLOSED

English Martyrs' - PARTIALLY CLOSED


Geoffrey Field Infant - OPEN

Geoffrey Field Junior - CLOSED

Holy Brook - OPEN

Katesgrove Primary - OPEN

Manor Primary - OPEN

Meadow Park - OPEN

Micklands Primary - OPEN

Moorlands Primary - CLOSED

New Christ Church - CLOSED

Newtown Primary - PARTIALLY CLOSED

Oxford Road Community School - CLOSED

The Palmer Academy - OPEN

Park Lane Primary - CLOSED

Ranikhet Primary - PARTIALLY CLOSED

Redlands Primary - CLOSED (except for nursery and one year 1 class)

Southcote Primary - CLOSED

St Anne’s Primary - OPEN

St John’s CofE - OPEN

St Martin’s Primary - CLOSED

St Mary and All Saints - CLOSED

St Michael’s Primary - OPEN

Thameside Primary - CLOSED (except for reception and year 6)

The Hill Primary - OPEN

The Ridgeway Primary - CLOSED

Whitley Park Primary - CLOSED (except for nursery)

Wilson Primary - OPEN




Secondary Schools


Bulmershe - CLOSED (except for years 7 and 11 and sixth form)

Maiden Erlegh - CLOSED

Piggott - CLOSED

Waingels College - CLOSED

The Forest School - CLOSED (except for sixth form)




Secondary Schools


Denefield - CLOSED (except for sixth form)

Little Heath - CLOSED

Willink - CLOSED (except for sixth form)

Theale Green - CLOSED