Prime Minister Liz Truss has resigned after just 45 days, becoming the Prime Minister with the shortest time in office of all time.

In comparison, the likes of Margaret Thatcher and Tony Blair lasted over a decade, while previous PM, Boris Johnson, was in position for over three years.

The second shortest reign was George Canning, with 119 days in 1827.

While short tenures is normal in football, with the average spell for a Championship manager under a year.

Reading Chronicle:

Famously, Brian Clough lasted just 44 days at Leeds United- before winning back-to-back European Cups with Nottingham Forest within the decade.

Throughout the 151 years of Reading Football Club, over 30 individuals have held the manager position, with Joe Edlestone's eight years in the 1930s and 1940s.

However, it was the 1930s which also gave the-then Biscuitmen their shortest reign, with highly-rated Scot John Cochrane in position for just 13 days.

A highly-regarded boss, Cochrane had spent 12 years in charge of St Mirren, winning the 1926 Scottish Cup.

What followed was an 11-year, trophy-ladden spell with North-East giants Sunderland.

Winning the 1936 First Division, 1936 Charity Shield and 1937 FA Cup, he chose to retire in 1939.

A report from BBC Sport in 2002 looked at his short lived spell at the club, with one former player saying: "Just before a game this man wearing a bowler hat, smoking a cigar and drinking a whisky would pop his head round the dressing room door and ask 'Who are we playing today?"

Reading Chronicle:

The article claims that this laid back approach is what saw him get the boot, never working in management again before his death in 1961.

Roger Titford, History and Heritage Officer for the Supporters Trust at Reading, said: "A Scotsman with a cheery personality, he had only resigned from Sunderland a few weeks earlier. By far the highest paid Reading manager at the time, he was given a three-year contract, and didn't deliver."

Winning one of his four matches in charge, he was out before the break-out of World War Two, with the next five managers lasting a combined 30 years.