KINGFISHER A battled to a 7-3 win over Kennet Valley Free Church A in Division One of the Reading & District League, while Andy Wang stormed to another impressive maximum as Sonning Common & Peppard B won 6-4 at Kingfisher C.

Danny Ricks and Steve Murgatroyd both got maximums as OLOP Premier beat Curzon Club A 7-3.

Tony Baker got a treble for Tidmarsh A, but they were held to a 5-5 draw by Springfield A, for whom Phil Burke and Graham Diplock won twice.

Matt Stone’s impressive form continued as both he and Denise Weller got hat-tricks in Sonning Common & Peppard C’s 9-1 victory over Tidmarsh B, meanwhile Sonning Common & Peppard A drew 5-5 with Kingfisher B thanks mainly to doubles from Neil Hurford and Malcolm Gregory. Martin Adams won all three of his contests for Kingfisher.

In Division Two, Roger Pritchard’s treble and two wins from Savva Christodoulou, plus the doubles, saw Kingfisher E beat Our Lady of Peace A 6-4.

Our Lady of Peace C beat Our Lady of Peace D 8-2 in their inter-club derby, Dave Holt starring with an impressive three-straight treble, while Simon Brookes won twice for the D team.

Rob Wilkie and Stephen Leggett both won twice as Springfield B managed a 5-5 draw with Sonning Common & Peppard D.

Thomas Lewis got a maximum as Our Lady of Peace B won a tight battle with Milestone A 8-2, Binit Bhaskar and Abhay Gore adding two wins apiece.

Keith Winter starred with a maximum as Tilehurst Methodists A won 7-3 at Sonning Sports A, while Eric Van Looy added two wins.

Milestone B started their season in Division Three by winning 6-4 at Tidmarsh C, Chris Collins in top form by winning all three.

Hat-tricks from Martin Wetherell and Mike Williams helped Tilehurst Methodists B to a 9–1 win over Sonning Sports B, while Kingfisher G beat clubmates Kingfisher F 6-4.

However, because the F team played a player who was not registered they had to concede 4 sets. For the G team Andrew Adair won two.

Curzon Club B just beat Our Lady of Peace E 6–4 thanks mainly to a Kate Maksimenko treble.

For Curzon, Linda King, Carine Bey and Kate Maksimenko, and for OLOP Wendy Porter, Louise Forster and Rishika Desai, made it possibly the first-ever Reading league match contested by all-female teams.

Terry Hardie and Theresa Watson were in top form for Tidmarsh D with both winning all three, which helped them beat Springfield C 9–1.

In Division Four, the first of many intra-club matches took place at Sonning Common & Peppard, where the E and G teams drew 5-5.

Ian Davenport grabbed a maximum for the E team, while there were two wins apiece for opponents Simon Berry and Melvyn Lovegrove.

Kennet Valley Free Church B lost 8-2 at Kingfisher H, Lewis Oke earning both his side’s points. Roger Prew was the star for Kingfisher, recording a treble, while Azaan Ali and Ania both recorded doubles.

Our Lady of Peace F beat Milestone C 7-3, with Alona Slobodskoy undefeated and her teammates Qing Wu and Rudresh Desai both recording doubles.

Springfield D and Sonning Sports C fought to a 5-5 draw, Paul Martin and Colin Jones both winning twice for Springfield.

Jude O’Halloran was the star for Sonning Sports, winning all three in straight sets.