CLUB member Lee Pearce and his guest Simon Hargrave, from Sherfield Oaks, won Reading's annual men's invitational competition with a stunning 45 stableford points.

The event, where Reading members invite a guest to play alongside them, attracted 60 players with 18 different golf clubs represented.

Pearce and Hargrave combined to fire in seven birdies in the 18-hole better-ball contest, leaving them three points clear of Colin Neville and Sonning's Trevor Woolford.

They took the runner-up spot on countback from Geoff Girdler and former Reading secretary Andrew Chaundy, now a member at Burford.

The best front nine score of 22 points was achieved by Matt Laverick and Iain Stewart, with the back nine honours going to Ian Wallace and Les Thelwall with 24 points.

Peacre completed a personal double by winning the member's nearest-the-pin competition on the 15th, while the guest's version on the eighth went to Jerry Nissen.

George Mitchell won the longest drive contest on the 12th and Matt Heaps took the straightest drive gong on the 18th.

TINA Mulford won the Stevenson Trophy, a ‘bogey’ or ‘par’ competition played on Saturday at West Berks, scoring 16 nett pars or better while Gale McAuley took second place with 14.

Meanwhile. Mary Harwood scored 31 points to win the Eastwood Cup, beating McAuley on countback while Carol Sparvell took third spot.

After the event, Nicolette Eastwood presented Harwood with the cup which was, in line with tradition, full of cherries.

John Harrod won the men’s midweek stableford with a highly creditable 42 points.

He was followed by a three-way tie on 37 points with Greg Collins taking second place, Ian Haines third and Andrew Greaves fourth on countback.

Martin Anscombe won the August seniors’ medal with gross 93, nett 72 while Geoff Pudner was second on nett 74 and Dave Ware third with 77.

In team events, the seniors were at home to Marlborough and had the satisfaction of reversing the 4½-1½ defeat suffered in the away fixture back in June, a win which extends their unbeaten run to eight matches.

Also in good form, the Central Sevens team enjoyed a fine 6-1 win at home to Cotswold Club.

THE trio of John Byrne, Mike Byrne and Graham Cole saw off 12 other teams to win the Alan Snook Memorial Trophy at Deanwood.

The event was a Texas Scramble and helped to raise funds for the NSPCC, with the victors shooting a brilliant 55 to take glory ahead of Liz Evans, Angela Dean and Dan Bailey (56.2).

Third place went to Rob Sim, Allen Thomas and Sid Edwards (58).

The women's longest drive was won by Tess Chantry, the men's by Cole and the nearest-the-pin by Paul Farrington.

Emma Cobb, chairman of the Newbury NSPCC, presented the prizes on a day which raised about £630 for the charity.