MIKE Lowe was crowned club champion at Theale after shooting rounds of 82 and 78 for an overall total of 160.

The competition was played a little earlier this year, but still attracted a good entry and the green staff laid out an excellent course with ironed greens and good pin placings for both days.

There was, however, a marked difference in scoring between Saturday and Sunday as perhaps highlighted by the fact that there were 24 birdies on the first day but only 12 on Sunday.

Saturday’s leaders were Matt Hallett and Skayn Wyatt both with 78 and John Blair coming in at 79, made up the final group on day two.

Although this trio started with high hopes on the second day, they all slipped from contention and the champion emerged from the group in front of them, while Keith Dawson finished runner-up with a total score of 162.

SIMON Barrie scored 41 points to win the final of the Liddiard Cup, a competition for which qualification began in early April.

Barrie won on countback from Trevor Rogers, while Andrew Greaves was a further point back in third place.

Meanwhile, Derrick Perrin and Renee Wheeler won the Di Evans Millennium Shield with 43 points. They won on countback from Tom and Gale McAuley, while Mark Kendal and Jane Brackenbury took third place with 41.

Steve Cox won Division One of the August medal with gross 82, nett 72. Mark Ramos was second with gross 86, nett 74 and Simon Matton was third with 85, 76.

Garry Postlethwaite won Division Two with the best gross score of the day, a splendid 79, nett 65.

Kevin Holland was second with gross 86, nett 71 while Patrick Wilmore with 84, 71 was relegated to third spot on countback.

Kevin Knape won Division Three with a gross 97, nett 71, Lloyd Ponsford took second spot with gross 94, nett 72, while Bob Griffiths was third with 95, 74.

Andrew Greaves won the men’s midweek stableford played on Monday with 39 points. He won by three points from Chris Prior who took second place, while Alan Stark was third on 34.

Charlie Dixon won the men’s Saturday stableford with 41 points. He was one point ahead of Simon Clifford who took second place, while Bob Ekins was third with 38.

In the team events, the seniors enjoyed their third away win on the bounce with a fine 4½-1½ victory at North Wilts.

The Central Sevens team lost 4-3 to Carswell 1 on Saturday in the league and to Carswell 2 in the knockout cup at Cherell Edge on Sunday, when a halved match was decided at the first extra hole.

A BUSY July at Deanwood ended with some family rivalry in the senior stableford as husband and wife Rob and Mona Butler fought it out for bragging rights, the former taking victory by just one point after racking up an impressive 45.

To coincide with the Open the club held a virtual pro-am contest where a club member partnered with a player in the Open to see which pair obtained the lowest score.

This year the winner was Toby Singleton and his partner 'Justin Thomas' who had a combined score of 127.

The club's monthly medals were won by Paul Westbrook (club), Allen Thomas (seniors) and Linda Scott (ladies).

The ladies' nine hole qualifier was taken by Angela Dean and the club stableford was won by Luke Bannister.

The Stirland Cup was won by Bob Hamnett by just one shot from Derek Major.