West Berks

BOTH the ladies’ and men’s July medals were decided over the weekend.

Tina Mulford won her competition on Saturday by returning gross 92, nett 71. She was followed home by Gale McAuley with gross 99 nett 75 and third place went to Sian Soanes with nett 80.

Shaun Ponsford won Division One of the men’s event on Sunday with gross 83, nett 72, with Richard Bower on nett 74 taking second spot by beating Mark Charlton on countback.

Chris Prior won Division Two with gross 90, nett 73 with Andrew Greaves, nett 78, claiming second spot.

There was a four-way tie on nett 82 with Rob Bridgeman taking third place on countback from Simon Barrie, Tim Palmer and Monty Kingston.

Darren Galbraith claimed Division Three with gross 93, nett 73, Roger Crowhurst was second with nett 76, while there was another four-way tie on nett 77 with Nick Jones placed third on countback from Paul Beake, Tom Wickstead and Robert Graham.

Earlier in the week, Andy Robbings won the midweek medal with gross 81, nett 73, Greaves continued his good run of form with nett 75, while George Jameson, nett 79, took third place on countback from Martin Anscombe.

Lyn Pell won the ladies’ July stableford with 36 points, two ahead of Ola Adams with Carol Sparvell third on 33.

Kevin Dixon won the men’s Saturday stableford with 39 points. There was a three-way tie on 36 points with countback placing John Harris second, Kevin Hopwood third and Roger Hunt fourth.

West Berks club president Gordon Munro won the nine-hole qualifier for the Liddiard Cup, scoring 22 points. Newly-crowned club champion Jason Kendal was a single point behind in second place.

It was a good week for West Berks’ teams.

The Central Sevens side enjoyed a 3-0 win at home to Tadmarton Heath to reach the semi-finals of the pairs knockout competition, while the men’s Saturday friendly team maintained their unbeaten record with a 3-3 draw at Donnington Valley.


The Tidy Wheelers Trophy proved a family affair with the Hallett brothers taking the top two places

Zack’s 41 points would have been good enough to emerge victorious on most other days, but brother Matt’s golf matched the weather and took the trophy with a very impressive 45 points.

Dad Kris, the club captain, missed out, while Kieran Leadbeater finished third in the stableford even with a commendable 40 points.

The prize for the longest drive up to 18 handicap was won by Sam Blenkinsopp, with Desmond Thompson taking the over 18 title. Mark Day was nearest the pin and nearest the pin in two was Dave Coulson.