Reading GC

BEN Hitchins was the 36-hole winner during Reading's captain's weekend.

He secured 36 points on the Saturday and an excellent 42 on the Sunday to take victory by one point from Jamie Sawyer (40 and 37).

Kerry Pardoe (39 and 37) came third.

Saturday's winner was Tim Smith, whose 45 points was four more than Cathy Jones, who took second on countback from Steve Mountford.

Pete MacDonald won Sunday's competition with 42 points, finishing ahead of Ian Roostan on countback. Tony Hill was third, three points back.

More than 225 members took part during the two days, and courtesy of a skittles evening on the Friday and the eighth hole charity challenge, more than £600 was raised for the captain, David Brown's, chosen charities – Prostate Cancer U.K. and Daisy’s Dream.

At the presentation, Brown said: "I am so pleased with the support given by the membership and want to thank all the volunteers, staff and members for helping to make this a such a successful event."

Goring & Streatley

STEVEN Shears (3hcp) and Terry Brown (20hcp) won the Fourball Championship with a brilliant nett 62.

The competition was hotly-contested with the top 14 scores only separated by three shots.

The team of Mark Cruickshank, Andrew Siggemann, Zoran Miljus and Brendan Nichol scored an amazing 84 points to win the Basildon Open.

A total of 56 golfers took part in the day, with Cuickshank's 41 points ensuring he also won the individual prize.

The day raised nearly £3,000 for Goring Robins football club.

Jacqueline Maclachlan had her first hole-in-one last week on the ninth.

Alex Nicholls made the cut in his first event on the PGA Europro Tour as a professional in the The World Snooker Jessie May Championship at Donnington Grove.

The Didcot resident followed his opening level par round with a 69 (-3) to finish inside the cut line.

Challenging weather conditions made scoring on day three difficult, however a finish of tied 41 was an encouraging effort.


JOHN Brooks claimed the Mogford Trophy on countback from Bob Clark.

The annual bogey competition – where players play matchplay against the course – saw 11 members beat the course.

Clark looked on course for victory after going 6up through 10 holes, but he slipped back to 5up allowing Brooks to come through for the win.

Taking fourth spot and 4up was Matt Hallett.

The under 18hcp longest drive was won by Phil Neal and the 19's and above by Kevin Allum.

The nearest the pin in two was won by Clark.

Theale are holding an open day between 1pm-3pm on Saturday, June 22.

For full details or to book a tee time ring 01118 9305331 or e-mail

West Berks

THE West Berks’ pairing of Peter Grayson and Phil Clare won the Macca Trophy at the men’s pairs open on Saturday.

The racked up 45 points, a fine score considering the very windy conditions, in an event played in memory of West Berks’ stalwart and fine golfer, Andrew Mackenzie, who died at the age of 49 in 2016.

This was the third staging of the event and 44 pairs competed in a fixture which is becoming firmly established in the club’s diary.

The President’s Putter was contested in much calmer conditions and Fred Stephens and Tony Athawes won the pairs competition with 60 points. They were four clear of Jane Brackenbury and Jason Kendal in second place, while Mark Ramos and Derek Smith with 54 beat the father-and-son duo of Richard and Rob Camden on countback to take third.

Carole Tancock won the ladies’ midweek stableford with 33 points, winning on countback from Nicolette Eastwood while Jane Wilmore was third with 32.

John Harrod won the men’s midweek medal with gross 99, nett 72, a fine score in the wet and windy conditions.

Ian Haines and James Hirst finished in second and third place.

The nine-hole midweek Liddiard qualifier was won by Darren Boulton with 22 points.

Bernie Holden was second with on 21 points, while Greg Collins was a further point back beating Harry White on countback to take third place.

The seniors played at Marlborough losing 4½-1½.