READING Racers defeated Weymouth Wildcats 20-10 in a rain-affected Southern Development League match at Swindon on Monday.

The track was already slippery before the first heat and it caught out 15-year-old Sam Norris, who came down on the second lap with rain coming down on his goggles.

In the re-run, Nick Laurence managed to split Wildcats No. 1 James Laker and Sam Peters.

With rain falling more heavily, Racer William O'keefe took a win in possibly the slowest ever race time at the Abbey Stadium.

Rhys Laker passed James Jessop for second place to earn maximum points.

After this race, there was discussion between the riders and management of both teams on whether to continue, but it was decided toncarry on.

Norris and Laurence again made the start and this time made no mistakes against Jessop and girl rider Cesca Kirtley-Paine, so another 5-1 putwin put Reading into a 12-6 lead.

A first-bend tangle in heat four between O'keefe and James Laker resulted in the latter coming to grief, but the referee allowed all four riders in the re-run.

Laker made the start second time around and although O'keefe chased gamely for a couple of laps, this was not a night for heroics and, with Laker safely in third place, the points were shared.

Racers notched up another maximum in the fifth heat, with Norris and Laker leading home Peters and Kirtley-Paine. They now held an unassailable 10-point lead and, with more heavy rain falling, the referee decided to call off the final race.

Reading were delighted to get their first victory on the board after what has been a difficult start to the season.

Their next match is against Milton Keynes Knights at Birmingham next Wednesday, June 5.

Scorers – Racers: Laurence 4+1, Norris 6, O'keefe 5, Rhys Laker 5+3.

Weymouth: James Laker 6, Peters 2, Jessop 2, Kirtley-Paine 0.

Heat One – J. Laker, Laurence, Peters, Norris (fx).

Heat Two – O'keefe, R. Laker, Jessop, Kirtly-Paine.

Heat Three – Norris, Laurence, Jessop, Kirtley-Paine.

Heat Four – J. Laker, O'keefe, R. Laker, Peters.

Heat Five – Norris, R. Laker, Peters, Kirtley-Paine.