FORMER Loxwood striker Mark Turner won the bragging rights in the Turner household after firing a hat-trick in the Brian Smith Memorial match at Ryeish Green Sports Hub on Sunday.

Although Turner's treble was not enough to earn Loxwood Old Boys A the victory, as they were beaten 7-4 by Loxwood Old Boys B, he showed his son Jamie how to finish as Turner junior fired a blank.

It made for some entertaining banter in the pub afterwards with Turner senior declaring: "You simply can't beat experience son."

But the younger Turner admitted he was saving his goals for next season.

In the end the result did not really matter.

What was most important was two groups of Loxwood old boys, and a sprinkling of the current squad, turned out to pay tribute to Brian Smith, one of the club's founders who did so much behind the scenes before his untimely death in 2013.

This was the third memorial match and once again Brian's widow Sue was guest of honour as she handed over the coveted trophy to Tim Gold, skipper of the jubilant B team.

The match helped raised nearly £300 for the British Heart Foundation and an entertaining game saw an 11-goal feast on the superb 3G pitch.

Turner senior was one of three players who turned up from the original Loxwood team which played their first ever Sunday League game back in September 1985.

And he quickly found his scoring boots with two goals in the first half, although his side trailed 4-2 at the break after strikes from Jason Ivil, Tim Gold, Chris Thorpe (penalty) and Jonno Morshead put the B team in charge.

The A team came storming back at the start of the second half as Warren Baxter made it 4-3 before Turner's third tied the game up at 4-4.

However, a late double by Loxwood chairman Simon Mellor and one from current skipper Luke Parsons saw the B team to victory thanks in no small part to some stunning saves from man of the match Colin Byers.


A team: Jason Mitchell, Christian Buckley, Barry Davies, Pete Phillips, Matt Poll, Matt Hopkins, Michael Flatman, Jonny Austin, Nathan Harvey, Stuart Anderson, Mark Turner. Subs: Jamie Presland, Jamie Turner, Steve Roberts, Warren Baxter.

B team: Colin Byers, Andy Marshall, Duncan Greenwood, Andy Hopkins, Jack Gill, Tim Gold, Jason Harris, Jason Ivil, Chris Thorpe,

Jonno Morshead, Simon Mellor. Subs: Peter Borrett, Lewis McLaren, Luke Parsons, Luke Giles