LONDON Irish have confirmed a total of 17 players will leave the club after a successful season which saw them win the Greene King IPA Championship to return to the Gallagher Premiership at the first time of asking.

Heading the list is Exiles legend and all-time top try scorer and most capped player, Topsy Ojo.

Having played more than 300 games for the club and scored more than 80 tries, the former England international will continue working with London Irish in an ambassadorial role, extending his 16-year association with the club.

Following him into retirement, unfortunately through injury, is back row Mike Coman, who was named Player of the Season in 2016/17 having joined from Edinburgh.

The third Exile to hang up his boots is scrum-half Brendan McKibbin, who is set to return to his native Australia to become a referee having played 60 times for the club.

Powerhouse No. 8 Samoan international Ofisa Treviranus departs having racked up 139 appearances for the club, while centre Fergus Mulchrone also leaves having recently become a centurion himself.

As announced earlier this year, Josh McNally follows a well-trodden path to Bath Rugby, while Tommy Bell – who amassed more than 380 points for the club – is set to join Ealing Trailfinders, runners-up to Irish in the league this year.

Scottish international Greig Tonks departs after three years with the club in which he scored 192 points in 60 games, while back row Jake Schatz – who gained 25 caps in a two-year stay – will also be leaving.

Canadian international Ciaran Hearn crossed the whitewash six times for Exiles – including an important one in their Championship play-off final win against Yorkshire Carnegie back in 2016/17 – while Italian star Luke McLean will also depart having made 33 appearances for the club in a two-year stay.

Irish star Ian Keatley – who contributed 67 points during his brief three-month stay at the club – had already committed to joining Benetton Treviso for next season before joining Exiles from Munster, while international props Gordon Reid and Manassa Saulo will also not be seen at Madejski Stadium next season.

Teofiso Paulo and the injury-ravaged duo of Fijian international wing Napolioni Nalaga and second row Sam Twomey will also be moving on.

Director of Rugby, Declan Kidney, paid tribute to the players for their efforts when stating: “I would like to thank all the players for their commitment to London Irish during their time with the club. We wish every one of them and their families all the very best for the future.”