READING RFC ended a three-match losing streak in Southern Counties North with a hard-fought 12-7 victory at High Wycombe.

Only three tries were scored on the day but that did not represent the high-intensity rugby which was on display.

But Reading’s superior defence won the battle after Wycombe had fought back from 12-0 down with eight minutes to go to set up a tense finish.

In fact, the home side enjoyed the lion’s share of possession in the first half as Reading came under regular pressure.

But some of Wycombe’s decision making and handling at crucial moments let them down on numerous occasions.

No-one would have been more frustrated than their fly-half Matt Wardle whose impressive performance was not matched by that of his colleagues.

Reading were not so wasteful and went in front with a try on the half-hour mark when flanker Gavin Egan was driven over from a line-out.

They almost snatched a second score soon after when Chris Greig intercepted a pass but was let down by an unlucky bounce as he chased a kick ahead.

Nevertheless, Reading had gained the upper hand which they carried into the second half of a wide-open game.

The visitors increased their lead soon after when their pack drove Wycombe off the ball at a scrum allowing Charlie Davies to touch down. Nick Burch landed the conversion for a 12-0 lead.

However, Wycombe were not finished there and a converted try by Josh Hall in the latter stages put them within a score of victory.

But Reading ran the clock down – helped by a speculative long-range Burch penalty – and held on for the win.

Alex Dorliac shone for Reading playing out of position at full-back, while fly-half Alex Murray-Smith directed play well and No.8 Rory Laing made a promising first start for the club.

Reading play their final home game of the season at Holme Park this Saturday when they host Littlemore (2.30pm), the side they defeated 31-3 away in the corresponding fixture in December.

Reading: Dorliac, Borthwick, Dear, Spears, Greig, Murray-Smith, Bowers, Pallett, Johnson, Nicol, Parr, Koefman, Egan, Davies, Laing. Subs: Burch, Veale, Witko.