SOME of the most influential figures covering more than 140 years of Reading FC history have joined the fans’ hall of fame.

In all, 25 new names were added to the Supporters’ Trust at Reading’s illustrious list at an induction gala at Madejski Stadium.

The latest members to join range from James Simonds, Reading FC president between 1871 and 1895 and whose great-granddaughter, Jacquie Drayton, was present to collect his award.

Royals Academy graduate, Alex Pearce, and club historian and former welfare officer, David Downs, were also honoured for their valuable contributions in recent times, as was former player and manager, Mick Gooding, now an expert summariser for BBC Radio Berkshire.

A host of former Royals attended on the night including Jimmy Wheeler, a star of the 1950s, and Nicky Shorey, who won two England caps during his time at the club between 2001 and 2008.

Player turned club scout Bobby Williamson, Steve Richardson and Keith McPherson were also present, while 2005/06 Championship title-winning defender, Ivar Ingimarsson, sent a message of thanks from Iceland.

The event was compared by Reading FC author Roger Titford from STAR along with Paul Allen and included rare footage from the club’s long history.

The Deputy Mayor of Reading, Paul Woodward, also received an award on behalf of Stanley Hayward, the Mayor of Reading exactly a hundred years ago and a famous goal-scoring goalkeeper in the club’s amateur days.

STAR member Kate Wynn also picked up an award on behalf of her grandfather, Alf Messer, a star of the 1920s, while Paul Evans spoke on behalf of his late father and former Reading player and manager, Maurice Evans, inducted for the 1960s.

STAR Hall of Fame – March 2019 inductees:

• 1870s – James Simonds

• 1880s – Stanley Hayward

• 1890s – Stan Justins; Johnny Holt

• 1900s – Ernie Watts; Billy Henderson

• 1910s – Jack Smith

• 1920s – Bert Eggo; Alf Messer

• 1930s – Billy Butler

• 1940s – Joe Edelston

• 1950s – Jimmy Wallbanks; Jimmy Wheeler

• 1960s – Maurice Evans; Colin Meldrum

• 1970s – Bobby Williams

• 1980s – Stuart Beavon; Steve Richardson

• 1990s – Keith McPherson; Mick Gooding

• 2000s – Nicky Shorey; Dave Kitson; Ivar Ingimarsson

• 2010s – Alex Pearce; David Downs