THEALE GC’s annual Pros Texas Scramble – to which golf professionals from other clubs are invited to lead a team – was again a successful event with 22 teams and a total of 88 players taking part.

Despite the hard work by the green staff, the recent rain and wintery conditions – not helped by a 20mph wind – made the course play longer than usual, which meant the scores on the day were the worst on record for the event. Only two teams scored under 60.

No visiting Pro was able to lead their team to victory and it was left to Theale’s own Nick Mitchell, with club members Ian Panting, Geoff Kells and Rob Panting to take the top spot with 57.7.

In the runners-up position were the foursome of John May, Chris Bowyer, Andy Loseby and Dave Taylor with 58.9.

Longest drive and nearest the pin for the ladies were both won by Kim Richardson and for the men, Chris Adlem won the longest drive and Steve Fisher the nearest the pin.

OLA Adams and Dennis White won the midweek mixed Valentine Trophy competition at West Berks.

The event is dedicated to the memory of past member Ian Bell.

His widow, Ann, presented the trophy and prizes after the event.

The winning score of 46 points was just two ahead of Bob Fagg and Jane Wilmore, who claimed second spot while Patrick Wilmore and Renee Wheeler were third with 42.

Gale McAuley won the penultimate round of the ladies’ winter league with 33 points, while Jane Brackenbury beat Tina Mulford on countback to take second spot. Brackenbury leads the competition going into the final round next Saturday.

Gary Robinson won the men’s Sunday winter competition.

He scored 43 points in the singles stableford event, winning by one shot from Kevin Wilkins who was second while Christy Whelehan claimed third spot with 41.

WOKEFIELD Park raised £3,400 for Burghfield and Mortimer community first responders during their captain/pro challenge.

A total of 13 pairs attempted to beat Andy Clark and Jamie Anton in the 1/4-handicap Texas Scramble event, but none were able to match the superb 64.5 shot by the winners.

Second place went to Stuart Brown and Martin Langhorn (66.2), the duo edging out Martin Ball and Daniel Howland.

The top five spots were rounded off by Richard Dawson and Clairemonte Gaskin, and Martin Herraghty and Noel McElligott.