THE ladies kicked off the seasonal celebrations at West Berks with an eight-hole competition followed by Christmas lunch.

The team comprising Ola Adams, Gale McAuley and Helen Bell won the Dallas Scramble with Georgie Seaman, Shelagh Lancaster and Carol Sparvell taking the runners-up spot.

Colin Bell snared the men’s midweek singles Turkey Trot with 39 points, winning on count-back from Mark Richardson with Dave Watkins third with 36.

Tina Mulford won the ladies’ competition with 28 points, one clear of McAuley in second place, while Renee Wheeler with 25 points beat Mary Harwood on countback to take third spot.

Chris Ward’s won the weekend singles competition with 37 points, and he was followed home by Simon Matton in second place with 35 and Giles Feltham was third with 33.

Bob Ekins, Gary Robinson, Mark Kendal and Nigel Day won the Sunday team event, while Chris Prior, Gary Waterston, Dan Taylor and Dan Bowsher were second and Mark Charlton, Tony Atkins, Kevin Good and Charles Dixon were third.

The day was completed when captains Nigel Day and Sandy Miller presented a cheque for £7,221.55 to Ulrike Rowbottom of CRY (Cardiac Risk in the Young) charity.

Rowbottom thanked all members for their efforts and generosity and talked about the work that CRY does to reduce sudden cardiac deaths in young people.

THE pairing of Scott Munro and Rob Winstanley took the honours in a very tight finish to the Weekend Turkey Trot competition at Caversham Heath on Saturday.

Munro (14hcp) and Winstanley (6hcp) scored 48 points in the competition, played with nine tenth handicap allowance.

Runners-up were Daniel Slater (18hcp) and Matthew Slater (15hcp), on countback over the last six holes from Joe Saunders (17hcp) and James R Saunders (16hcp), both pairs with 47 points.

Twos were recorded by Kevin Allaway, Andy King, Luis Mesquita, Monro and Stuart Webb (all on the 8th hole); Nick Ford (13th) and Winstanley and David Wise (17th).

Don Gibson (19hcp) and Ian Bennett (22hcp) won the Midweek Turkey Trot with 44 points, on countback from Tony Gonzalez (12hcp) and Steve Streak (11hcp), both pairs with 44 points. Third were Joe Sanchez (17hcp) and John Purnell (12hcp) with 43.

Twos were recorded by Robert Payne and Lynne Rumbold (both on the 8th hole) and by Daniel Dover (17th hole).