EDDIE “The Eagle” Edwards of ski jumping fame was the special guest at Goring & Streatley's annual prizegiving evening.

More than 100 guests attended, with the winners including the junior team who triumphed in the Thames Valley Golf League Knockout competition against Sand Martins over two legs.

Freddie Horner was awarded the junior golfer of the year for his commitment to the team throughout the year as well as fine performances at county level.

The ladies club champion for the last three years, Emily Savage, has also played for the county throughout the year.

New members Karen Brown and Jo Grant were both multiple winners, while Sally McCleery won the President’s Order of Merit with one win and three second places.

In the men's section, Alexander Nicholls won his biggest tournament to date claiming the West of England Open Amateur Championship.

However, the night belonged to Richard Lee who won the Club Championships for a second year running. With a score of 137 (-3) over 36 holes, Richards consistency was too much for the rest of the field to handle with him cruising to victory by five shots.

FORTY pairs set off on the season-long pursuit of the men’s Winter League competition at West Berks on Sunday, and John Harris and Kevin Hopwood are the early pacesetters winning the first round – a better-ball stableford competition – with a remarkable 50 points.

There was a three-way tie on 46 points for second place with Jason Kendal and Garry Postlethwaite taking second spot, Tony Athawes and Luke Prestoe third and Mark Ramos and Derek Smith fourth on countback.

Mary Harwood won the fifth round of the ladies’ Winter League with 29 stableford points.

Gale McAuley was one point behind in second place and Jane Brackenbury third with 23.

Adam Bradley had a day to remember when he shot a massive 47 points in the Weekend Stableford and EGU Bridgestone Chase Your Dream Qualifier on Saturday.

Bradley posted seven pars and six birdies (four of them on his back nine), including five four-point holes.

He went out in 22 points and came home with 25 points to earn a two-shot cut in handicap.

He also received an additional exceptional scoring reduction to 7hcp.

Runner-up, eleven points behind, was David Cuthbertson (9hcp) with 36 points and third was Mark Banham (8hcp), on countback from David Wise (7hcp), both with 33 points.

Banham ended with two nil returns, while Wise finished with a nil return and a double bogey.

Division Two winner was Matthew Evans (12hcp) with 41 points (halves of 21 and 20 points).

Second was Dennis Sunderland (13hcp) with 39 points and third was Neil Scott (17hcp) with 37 points.

Sunderland eagled the par-five fourth hole, but ended with a nil return. Both Evans and Sunderland received a one-shot cut in handicap.

There was a very tight finish in Division Three, with the honours going to Andy Ward (23hcp) with 37 points.

Dan Rawlings (19hcp) took the runner-up spot, on countback from Richard Usher (21hcp) and Geoff Parlour (20hcp), all with 36 points.

Twos were recorded by Michael Beaumont, Evans, Paul Horrod, Neil McAllister, Neil Scott and Stuart Webb (all on the 8th hole) and by Richard Norris and Webb (both on the 13th).

Luis Mesquita (14hcp) held on to win a keenly-contested Division One in the Midweek Stableford.

Mesquita totalled 28 points (even halves of 19 points) to finish ahead of runner-up Stewart Kennedy (15hcp) with 37 points.

Third was Merv Jones (18hcp), on countback from Ian Gaff (18hcp), Lee Kirton (12hcp) and Jack Russell (10hcp), all with 36 points.

Division Two winner was Stewart Ostler (23hcp) with 39 points.

Runner-up was Brian Connolly (27hcp), on countback from Simon Dicketts (19hcp), Geoff Parlour (20hcp) and Nigel Trinder (25hcp), all with 36 points. Connolly had three nil returns on his front nine while Trinder collected two nil returns on his back nine, plus two doubles to end.

Ostler received a one-shot cut in handicap.

Twos were recorded by Russell and Stewart Kennedy (both on the 8th hole) and by Wayne Mayers (17th hole).

THEALE GC had never scheduled a foursomes into its list of competitions until this year, however, with fine weather and superb greens, members voted it a welcome addition.

The final scores were very close with only two shots separating the top four pairs.

Club Captain Keith Dawson and his partner, Lee Barrett, squeezed out father-and-son partnership, Matt and Zack Hallett, for third place on countback – both pairs coming home with 72.

Runners-up with 71 were Jack Mac and Dave Clark, but the club’s first foursomes’ champions were Kevin Allum and Phil Neal with an excellent round of 70.