MATTHEW Slater scored a remarkable 47 points to clinch Division Three of the Weekend Stableford at Caversham Heath on Sunday.

Slater (20hcp) went out in 26 points – two over par – and recorded eight pars and two birdies along with three four-point holes.

His efforts saw him receive a three-shot cut in handicap.

Runner-up was Geoff Parlour (21hcp) with 40 points and third was Pierre Dutton (26hcp), on countback from Joseph Lawrence (19hcp) and Samuel Kpani-Addy (19hcp), all with 34 points.

Parlour received a one shot cut in handicap.

Division One winner was Mathew Brakspear (6hcp) with 42 points, ahead of James McGiveron (10hcp) with 41, and Michael Beaumont (7hcp) with 40.

Brakspear carded 13 pars and three birdies, finishing the back nine holes in one-under-par.

The only blots on his card were a double on the opening hole and a bogey on the 6th.

McGiveron had 12 pars and one birdie, but had two bogeys in his last three holes, while Beaumont recorded 13 pars and one birdie, but had a bogey on the 17th.

All three players received a one shot cut in handicap.

Stephen Halford (12hcp) held off the challenge of Trevor Hayden (17hcp) to take Division Two on countback, both with 39 points. Third was Andy Holmes (12hcp) on countback from Matthew Evans (12hcp) both with 38.

Halford managed to claim victory despite having two nil returns. Both Halford and Hayden received a one-shot cut in handicap

Twos were recorded by Stephen Beresford and Slater (both on the 8th hole), Halford, Hayden, James Walker and Holmes (all on the 13th) and by Russell Falconer (17th).

Nigel Snaith (9hcp) claimed top spot in Division One of the Midweek Stableford with 39 points.

Runner-up was Shaun Wharton (14hcp) with 38 points and third was Peter King (13hcp), on countback from Lee Kirton (12hcp), both with 37 points.

Wharton, who received a one-shot cut in handicap, had two nil returns in his front nine and two bogeys in his last three holes.

Division Two winner was Alan Davies (19hcp) with 39 points. Second was Daniel Dover (21hcp) with 37 and third was Raef North (25hcp) with 35.

Twos were recorded by Ben Storey (13th) and Wharton (17th).

The team of Jonathan Denning, Toby Joyce, Stewart Kennedy and Stewart Ostler won the Guy Fawkes four-player scramble with a score of 59.1.

Runners-up were Wayne Jolley, McGiveron, Duncan Peart and David Wise with 61.1.

Third were Beaumont, Kirton, Dennis Sunderland and Dave Williams with 61.4.

Shelia Evans (30hcp) clinched the Ladies Guy Fawkes Stableford with 33 points.

Runner-up was Lynne Rumbold (19hcp) with 31 and third was Kathy North (33hcp) on countback from Lorraine Wong (34hcp), both with 30 points.

Rumbold also scored the only two of the competition on the 8th hole.

CHRIS Ramsey followed his win in round one of the Gillas Cup a couple of weeks back by winning the second event on Sunday. His score of 40 points was just enough to beat Kevin Hopwood on countback, while Tim Palmer with 38 points beat Darren Boulton, also on countback, to take third spot.

This result sets up a very close and open final to be played next Sunday.

Competitors take their best score in rounds one and two into the final and although Ramsey and Mark Ridgill will lead the way with the 43 points they scored in round one, they are closely pursued with no less than 18 players within seven points of the lead.

Jane Brackenbury retained the Armstrong Salver ladies matchplay competition when she beat Gale McAuley in the final.

Brackenbury also won round three of the ladies’ Winter League on Saturday with 33 points. Sian Soanes was second with 30 and Renee Wheeler third on 28.

Wheeler did win the ladies Winter Trophy stableford with 35 points, though. with McAuley second with 31 points ahead of Georgie Seaman on countback.

MEMBERS at Theale generated an impressive £1,300 for Breast Cancer during a week of fund-raising.

Both male and female players were encouraged to wear pink, while there were fees from two Texas Scrambles, one midweek and one at the weekend with separate raffles for donated prizes.

Also during the week, there was an auction together with a week-long sweepstake and a cake sale.

The winning trio for the mid-week scramble was Jim Russell, Dave Coulson and Les Freeman, and at the weekend it was Micky Wheeler, Chris Poole and Paul Taylor who took the honours.