In the Lower Divisions cup, Reading FC A edged out Tidmarsh D 5-4, the beaten side unable to recover from a 4-0 deficit having lost three of those opening sets to a third-game decider.

Pre-competition favourites Kingfisher G hammered Springfield E 9-0, where only three sets required a deciding game.

Sonning Common and Peppard E moved up a gear to take the final six sets in an 8-1 win at Kingfisher I, Miguel Caballero and Meriel Low with the consolation set for Kingfisher.

In an almost identical match, Springfield B also took the final six sets in their 8-1 win at Milestone C, Michal Pszczolka and John Evans with the consolation.

Springfield D also triumphed 8-1, but in a much tighter match against Reading FC B. The first four sets all required a deciding game and all went to Springfield, three by a slim 11-9 scoreline.

In the Team Handicap competition there were 8-1 victories for two of the Tidmarsh teams.

The D team got past Springfield D with Alan Goold preventing the rout, Mo Cole doing the same in Sonning Sports C’s defeat to the Tidmarsh B team.

Tidmarsh A overcame two-man Springfield E 6-3, while Reading FC A overcame Kingfisher H thanks to two apiece from Richard Witt, Anthony Alleyne and Wayne Alleyne.

Reading FC B went down 6-3 to Springfield B, Peter Gurney, Rob Wilkie and Steve Leggett each with two wins.

The first lower-ranked team to prevail were Kingfisher G, who just squeezed past Sonning Common and Peppard A 5-4.

Tarik Ramjuan’s maximum, and in particular his victory over Andy Wang, proving decisive.

In another tight match the lower ranked OLOP D overcame Milestone B/Saiyan Brothers 5-4 despite a valiant losing maximum from Pszczolka.

Elsewhere, Pangbourne lost 6-3 to Sonning Sports B, Himanshu Pasbola and John Scott both with maximums.

Sonning Common & Peppard B and C teams shared the points as they fought out a 5-5 draw in their re-arranged Division One match.

Wang picked up another impressive treble for the B side, while Matt Stone and Denise Weller won twice for the C team alongside a vital 6-11 11-4 11-6 11-7 win by Matt Isherwood over Brian Meheux.

Tilehurst Methodists A and Our Lady of Peace B battled out a 5-5 draw in their Division Two clash.

Keith Winter sealed a maximum for Tilehurst, while both Alistair Richardson and Johnson Xu won twice for OLOP with Johnson just losing out to Winter in the final set of the night 14-12 11-13 9-11 6-11.

Tidmarsh E won their outstanding fixture at Sonning Common & Peppard F 7-3 in Division Five mainly thanks to a Steve Andrews treble.

Roy Hull and Steve Wood both got trebles as Tilehurst Methodists C made it five wins from five to move into the promotion places after a hard fought 8-2 win against Tidmarsh.

Wood narrowly defeating Roger Stevens 12-10 9-11 10-12 11-9 11-6, while teammate Rob James could only record a single after losing to both Roger and Steve Andrews, the latter just beating James 4-11 11-9 12-10 10-12 11-9.