THERE were points galore in the August Weekend Stableford at Caversham Heath with the top six players in Division Three all scoring more than 40 points.

The winner was Adam Baker (23hcp) with a massive 45 points (halves of 22 and 23).

Runner-up was Matthew Thomas (25hcp), on countback from Andy Ward (26hcp), both with 43 points.

Stephen Beresford (7hcp) took the Division One honours, on countback from James Walker (6hcp), both with 39 points.

Third was Callum Peart (4hcp), on countback from James McGiveron (9hcp), both with 38 points.

Beresford recorded 11 pars and two birdies, Walker had 13 pars and one birdie, Peart 10 pars and three birdies, while McGiveron had nine pars, two birdies and had a nil return on his back nine.

Division Two winner was Wayne Mayers (14hcp) with 40 points (even halves of 20).

Second was Neil McAllister (18hcp) with 39 points and third was Richard Norris (12hcp) with 38 points.

Norris was in prime position for divisional victory standing on the 16th tee, but he then proceeded to have a nil return, birdie, bogey finish.

Twos were recorded by Michael Deignan (13th hole) and Norris and Robert Thomas (both on the 17th hole).

Peart won the Midweek Medal with nett 68. Runner-up was Wayne Mayers (13hcp) with nett 69 and third was Lee Kirton (12hcp), on countback from Duncan Mee (16hcp), both with 70.

Peart’s scorecard included 12 pars, two birdies and an eagle on the par five 15th hole.

Mee had a disastrous finish, ending bogey, triple bogey, bogey.

Division Two winner was Garfield Bryant (19hcp) with nett 65 (seven pars and one birdie).

Second was Keith Reid (21hcp) with 68 and third was Stuart Walker (26hcp) with 70.

Twos were recorded by Shiv Dev Datt (8th hole) and Daniel Dover (13th hole).

Andy Horn triumphed in a 9-hole stableford on countback from Richard Usher and Dan Rawlings, all with 19 points.

Margaret Deighan (31hcp) took the honours in the Amber Rose Bowl with 35 points, on countback from Joyce Collins (27hcp).

Deighan and Collins both had three nil returns on their scorecard, but Collins’ nil returns came within the last four holes (15th, 17th and 18th).

Third was Jane Weller (20hp) on countback from Lorraine Wong (34hcp), both with 32 points.

  • LADY captain Sandy Miller won the senior championship at West Berks in a tournament which proved to be quite a battle, with just a single shot separating the first three places.

Miller won with a round of 96 while Sian Soanes and Gale McAuley both shot 97, with Soanes taking second spot on countback.

Miller’s 72 was also the best nett score of the day, but this award went to Georgie Seaman with net 73 on the one-prize-only rule.

Meanwhile, Tina Mulford claimed a closely-fought ladies’ Stewards Cup with 34 points, winning on countback from McAuley.

Deb Wedell was a further point behind and beat Miller on countback to take third place.

Charlie Austin warmed up for Southampton’s home game against Leicester at the weekend by winning the men’s midweek stableford on Thursday with 42 points.

In-form Greg Collins was second with 39 and Darren Galbraith third on 37.

Billy Nicholson won a high-scoring Liddiard final with 43 points. Matt Thomas was second with 42 and Greg Collins took third place with 40 points.

Colin Price won the men’s Saturday stableford scoring 38 points. He was one point clear of Jason Kendal, who beat Simon Clifford on countback to take second place.

The ladies entertained The Springs and halved the match 2-2.