READING FC will compete in this season’s Berks & Bucks Senior Cup after a 16-year absence.

Royals were inaugural winners of the competition back in 1879 after beating Marlow 1-0 at Reading Cricket Ground.

But the club has not entered the competition since 2002 until a sudden change of heart.

League Two side MK Dons have also confirmed their place in this season’s Senior Cup along with a host of non-league sides in the area.

The draw for the first round has already taken place, with Reading set to enter at the second round stage.

Royals will field their Under 23s side in the Senior Cup and will play all their fixtures away from home.

The Senior Cup is a straight knockout tournament without replays, with ties decided on the day by extra time and, if necessary, penalties.

Reading have won the B&B Senior Cup three times, the last coming in 1995.

Chesham United won last year’s competition after beating MK Dons on penalties at Stadium:MK.

First round draw: Aylesbury Town v Bracknell Town; Abingdon United v Windsor; Reading City v Flackwell Heath; Wantage Town v Binfield; Ascot United v Thatcham Town; Marlow v Didcot Town; Aylesbury United v Newport Pagnell Town.

Teams receiving byes: Reading, MK Dons, Maidenhead United, Slough Town, Hungerford Town, Beaconsfield Town, Holmer Green, Shrivenham, Chalfont St. Peter.