THERE were high scores galore in the February Weekend Stableford at Caversham Heath, with 42 players across all three divisions scoring 36 points or more.

Six players had 36 points or better in Division One, 19 players in Division Two and 17 in Division Three.

On top of this, the top 12 in Division Two had 39 points or more with five players scoring 40 points or more.

Dave Williams (4hcp) topped the list in Division One with 43 points, while the runner-up was Michael Beaumont (7hcp), on countback from James McGiveron (9hcp) and Jon Winstanley (10hcp), all with 40 points.

Stephen Halford (12hcp) took the honours in Division Two with 43 points, one clear of Clive Adamson (14hcp) Third was Martin Chidgey (15hcp) with 41 points.

Division Three winner was Andy Ward (28hcp) with 41 points.

Runner-up was Jason Springer (19hcp), on countback from Neil Duguid (19hcp) and Mark Slater (20hcp), all with 39 points.

Twos were recorded by Glen Dudman, Andy Holmes, Merv Jones, McGiveron and Christopher Searle (all on the 8th hole), and Dudman and Andy Horn (17th).

Jack Russell (12hcp) stormed to victory in Division One of the midweek stableford with 43 points.

Runner-up was Robert Jones (7hcp) with 39 points and third was Steven Painter (18hcp) with 38.

The Division Two winner was Nigel Tinder (27hcp) with 42 points. Joyce Collins (27hcp) took second place, on count-back from Samuel Kpani-Addy (20hcp), both with 37 points.

Twos were recorded by Brian Connolly and Roger Landon (8th) and by Anderson Goddard (17th).

  • THE lady captain, Sandy Miller, and Renee Wheeler won the Ladies Winter League at West Berks, a pairs, 4BBB match play competition played from the end of October through to the end of February.

They scored 12 points, while Mary Harwood and Gale McAuley were second with six and Georgie Seaman, who played the last two games on her own due to the departure of her playing partner Jan Francis, tied in third place with Ann Davis and Tina Clayton on 4½ points.

Round Five of the men's Winter League was a greensome competition won by Nigel Huszarik and Jimmy Green with 46 points.

Chris Terrett and Gordon Munro were second on 42, while Colin Harrison and Lee Nicholson were one shot behind in third, having edged out Colin Mercer and Tony Atkins on count-back.