ALEX Luxon dominated as The Club at Mapledurham held their annual Presentation Evening recently.

Luxon, the men’s club champion of 2017, also won the Nick Kennedy Trophy (with Darren Barkey), Kirby Greensomes and Captains’ Day.

He then went on to win the scratch singles competition and after a very close fight with Julie Parsons, he pulled off a few more wins to take the 2017 midweek order of merit and then the seven-day order of merit. Paul Saunders finished runner-up.

Both order of merit trophies were presented by David Tann on behalf of the competition sponsors Wilkins Kennedy Chartered Accountants.

Elsewhere, Paul Evans and Keith Newby proved to be a formidable pair, winning the Roger Dearing, the Foxtrot and the midweek winter pairs competitions.

Evans also won the Gardner Trophy and the Captains’ Drive-In, while Newby finished off his year’s success by winning the midweek November stableford competition with 44 points, which resulted in a 1.6 handicap reduction to make him a single-figure golfer for the first time.

In the ladies’ section, Parsons, the 2017 club champion, won the Midweek Classic with Theo Farley and the Foxtrot.

She won the England Golf medal gross and nett prizes and the Eclectic prize.

Carina Gandy, a rising star, won Captains’ Day, the midweek mixed pairs and the seven-day summer singles.

Audrey Turton triumphed in the the England Ladies Golf Medal.

She was the overall winner of the competition with the four best scores taking her through to the regional final.

The monthly winners were Margaret Griffiths-Eyton, Tracey Smith, Maureen Gilmartin, Joan Cadge, Jo Thompson, Val Andrews, Sue Rogers, Debbie Harris, Doffi Parkinson, Danielle McGeoghegan, Gandy and Karen Bridges.

Other board competition winners were Iain Harper, Colin Leighton, Chris Rogers, Malcolm Smailes, Mike Spensley, Tim Mitchell, Alan Morrow, Bridges, Jon Allamby, James Newport, Frank O’Neill, Sue Rogers, David Mehigan, Sean O’Brien, Dave Smith, Peter Heath, Teresa Taylor, Carole Gardner, Gareth Wright and Tann.

Other knock-out winners were Chris Gosling, Mike Ford, Peter Wild, Crawford Anderson, Tony Gardner, Andrew Brodie, Richard Barton, Tim Lawrence, Gary Barton, Steve Briggs, Simon Sawyer, Noreen Davey and Kari Dixon.

l WEST Berks’ incoming captain, Sandy Miller, followed up her success in last week’s Christmas Waltz competition by winning the ladies’ Winter Trophy stableford with 34 points.

Gale McAuley was second with 32 followed by Ann Davies on 29.

Tina Mulford won the ladies’ midweek Turkey Trot with 38 points. She was seven shots clear of Renee Wheeler who was second, while McAuley was a further shot behind in third place.

Forty-five teams entered the first round of the men’s Winter League with Dominic Elsworth and Ian Slatcher winning the better-ball stableford competition with 46 points.

Giles Feltham and Ian Haines were one shot behind in second place, beating Nigel Day and Darren Galbraith on count-back.

Terry Phelps and Jon Bale won the second round played in a 1:2, 1:2 format with 62 points winning on count-back from Feltham and Haines.

Tony Athawes and Luke Prestoe were third with 60 points.