THE new leadership team for West Berkshire Council was announced last night, following the elections on Thursday May 2.

Councillor Lynne Doherty, (Conservative, Newbury Speen), is now the leader of the council, and takes over from Graham Jones. She is also in charge of strategy and communication.

Cllr Graham Bridgman (Conservative, Burghfield & Mortimer), who is now the deputy leader, said: “Lynne has proved herself over the last four years.

“She is resourceful, enthusiastic, and particularly committed to the wellbeing and doing the best for the residents of West Berkshire.”

Cllr Doherty said: “I consider it an honour and a privilege to be elected leader of this council. I’m looking forward to working with a great team to deliver on the promises we have made to our residents.”

The council executive is split up into nine portfolios, each with a lead councillor. The new executive is:

Lynne Doherty, leader of the council, strategy and communications

Graham Bridgman, deputy leader, adult social care

Dominic Boeck, children, education and young people

Hilary Cole, economic development and planning

Steve Ardagh-Walter, environment

Jeff Cant, finance

Howard Woollaston, internal governance

Rick Jones, public health and community wellbeing

Richard Somner, transport and countryside

Cllr Graham Pask (Conservative, Bucklebury) was elected as chairman, and takes over from Carol Jackson-Doerge. The chairman represents the council on civic and ceremonial occasions as a figurehead.

Cllr Pask said: “It means a lot to have support from all sides of the council. I would also like to express my support to my family for their amazing support.”