CANDIDATES for the Newbury Parliamentary seat have now been finalised ahead of the General Election, writes Will Cole.

Five candidates, one each from The Conservative, Liberal Democrats, Green, Labour and Apolitical Democrat parties will contest the seat.

The full list of candidates are as follows.

Newbury List:

  • Richard Benyon – Conservative Party
  • Judith Bunting – Liberal Democrats
  • Paul Field – Green Party
  • Alex Skirvin – Labour Party
  • Dave Yates – Apolitical Democrats

The West Berkshire seat has been held by the Conservative Party candidate Richard Benyon since 2005, who will be standing again.

Polls for the 2017 general eleciton will open 7am on Thursday, June 8 and close at 10pm. Newbury will return one MP to Parliament, with the result announced early on June 9.

You can register to vote by post or in person by May 22 at