NEW signing Vito Mannone will wear the number one shirt after Reading FC revealed their squad numbers for the upcoming 2017/18 Championship campaign, writes Jacob Potter.

The news comes after Royals boss Jaap Stam insisted £2m Sunderland capture Mannone would have to battle with Finnish stopper Anssi Jaakkola for a place between the sticks.

But it appears the 29-year-old Italian is ahead of Jaakkola in the pecking order after taking the squad number one.

Stam said: “He (Mannone) now needs to challenge for a place in the first team- a place that Anssi wants to fight for as well, of course. But we're very glad to have him at the club.”

Jaakkola has chosen to retain the number 31 for the upcoming season, alongside fellow goalkeeper George Legg who keeps his number 43 jersey.

Elsewhere, Liam Moore has opted to take the number 6, George Evans has reverted to number 8, and striker Joseph Mendes has become the Royal's number 9.

Jake Cooper, who looked to be heading to Millwall on a permanent deal a few weeks ago, has been handed the number three shirt after Stam confirmed the door is still open.

Liam Kelly has somewhat surprisingly decided to retain the number 38 shirt, whilst the returning Callum Harriot and Stephen Quinn will wear numbers 15 and 21 respectively.

New signings Pelle Clement and Jon Dadi Bodvarsson will wear the numbers 22 and 23 whilst John Swift has taken the number 10 shirt from Deniss Rakels who is now at Lech Poznan on a season-long loan.

Reading revealed their new squad numbers earlier today and tomorrow will unveil the new kit for the 2017/18 season at a special launch party at Madejski Stadium.

The full list of the new squad numbers: 1 Vito Mannone; 2 Chris Gunter; 3 Jake Cooper; 4 Joey van den Berg; 5 Paul McShane; 6 Liam Moore; 7 Roy Beerens; 8 George Evans; 9 Joseph Mendes; 10 John Swift; 11 Jordan Obita; 12 Garath McCleary; 15 Callum Harriott; 17 Sandro Wieser; 18 Yann Kermorgant; 19 Yakou Meite; 20 Tiago Ilori; 21 Stephen Quinn; 22 Pelle Clement; 23 Jon Dadi Bodvarsson; 24 Tyler Blackett; 25 Adrian Popa; 28 Danzell Gravenberch; 30 Tennai Watson; 31 Anssi Jaakkola; 38 Liam Kelly; 43 George Legg.