ANNE Smith (8hcp) comfortably won the Ladies Club Championship at Caversham Heath for the seventh consecutive season. She shot rounds of 93 and 90 to finish 19 shots clear of the field, with Lynne Rumbold (18hcp) second and Caroline Dover back in third after rounds of 102 and 110.

  • WILL Tate (4hcp) is the new club champion after he held off the challenge of 2014 winner and 2015 runner-up, Richard Craven (0hcp) to take the title by one shot.

Half way through the second round Craven took the lead, only for Tate to fight back.

Tate scored 71 (including eight pars and six birdies) to lead closest challenger Craven on 76 (12 pars and two birdies) by five shots after round one on Saturday.

However, it was much tougher on day two on Sunday. Tate started his second round with two bogeys and then proceeded to record two triple bogeys in his outward nine of 47.

Meanwhile, Craven completed his outward nine in 41, despite a double bogey on the ninth, to be leading by one shot at the turn.

Two bogeys in his first three holes coming home saw Tate wobble again, but he steadied the ship with five pars and a birdie in his closing six holes for 84.

Craven shot seven pars in his homeward nine to record a back nine of 39, however, a double bogey on the 12th hole and a bogey on the 14th proved costly. His total of 80 was the best score of the second day, but was still agonisingly one shot adrift of Tate.

  • PHIL Booth (9hcp) won the 2017 Senior club championship on Monday, shooting 82 – including nine pars and one birdie.

Runner-up was Santiago Fernandez-Garcia (12hcp) – who finished with a double bogey – and third was Michael Scott (12hcp) with 85.

John Endersby (18hcp) took the Nett title on countback from Brian Morison (18hcp), both with nett 70. Third was Santiago Fernandez-Garcia with nett 71.

Twos were recorded by Tony Gonzalez (8th hole), Mick Biles (13th hole) and Gerry Rogers (17th hole).