News Archives

23 Mar 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist with Bernadette Varilone

Live life like you’ll die tomorrow, plant a garden like you’ll live forever – I can’t remember who quoted that to me once but it has stuck with me. In reality we just don’t do this, however.

Social:

15 Mar 2015 09:30

Review: They Came From Mars - Shinfield Players Theatre

THE Farndale Avenue Townswomen’s Guild drama group are renowned for their lack of stage prowess and their production of this sci-fi drama resulted in the predictable mayhem we have come to expect from these ladies of somewhat limited talent! Props went astray, lines were forgotten or muddled and we witnessed a series of wardrobe malfunctions, the absurdity of which all added to the hilarity of the evening.

Social:

10 Mar 2015 09:30

First night review: The History Boys

PASS the parcel. These are some of the final words said in The History Boys by focal character Hector – an inspiring and off-curricula English teacher nurturing a group of eight boys through to their university entry exams.

Social:

9 Mar 2015 09:30

The Reluctant Runner: Cake

It is quite amusing, well to me anyway, that this month’s column on my London Marathon training sits right next to a piece about sugar dependency.

Social:

6 Mar 2015 09:30

King King tease with soulful gig

MULTI-AWARD winning four piece blues-rock band King King captivated their fans with an intimate performance at Bowery District on Sunday.

Social:

4 Mar 2015 09:30

First night review: Sleeping Beauty by Vienna Festival Ballet

HIGH up in the balcony she rests her chin on her hands. The lights go down and her eyes open wide.

Social:

27 Feb 2015 09:30

Oye Yes Santana: Review by Mike Swift

A SOLD out Norden Farm in Maidenhead played host to the ‘incredible’ Carlos Santana tribute band Oye Santana on Saturday night.

Social:

20 Feb 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist with Bernadette Varilone

I KNOW I may be slightly biased in my opinion here but Garden design must be the most creative forms of design there is. Why do I have the audacity to say this?

Social:

12 Feb 2015 09:30

Mum's the word with Alex Brocklesby

At four months, baby has started to make up her own form of communication, all sorts of screeches, screams, gurgles and babbles and I love it so much I can’t help but actively encourage her.

Social:

10 Feb 2015 09:30

A stadium, a prince and a marathon

WHEN I set out on the road to running a marathon I never expected it to take me to the hallowed turf of sacred Twickenham – twice – or shaking the hands of a prince in the England rugby team’s changing rooms, writes Rebecca Curley in this month's Reluctant Runner column.

Social:

5 Feb 2015 12:00

Health focus: dealing with heartburn

HEARTBURN, or acid reflux, can be very uncomfortable but, arguably, occasional symptoms are normal. If you overeat or drink excess alcohol then the burning symptoms might be expected.

Social:

26 Jan 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist with Bernadette Varilone

Designing your ideal garden. First measure your plot.

Social:

19 Jan 2015 09:30

Mum's the word with Alex Brocklesby

After almost four months of practice, I have almost mastered the art of breastfeeding in public (except when caught off-guard wearing silly dresses). And what an art it is.

Social:

15 Jan 2015 09:30

Ever tried breastfeeding in public while holding a conversation with a man?

After almost four months of practice, I have almost mastered the art of breastfeeding in public (except when caught off-guard wearing silly dresses). And what an art it is.

Social:

15 Jan 2015 09:30

The Reluctant Runner on Park Run

NEW year, new you....and all that jazz. Don’t you just hate it when people spin the positive on everything during January by saying this four words? Well for me yes, this is a new year, but it’s not so much a new me rather than a more organised (and hopefully fitter and thinner) me.

Social:

10 Jan 2015 09:30

The Happy Horticulturist

I hope you’re all set for Christmas and the presents are wrapped. Hopefully you can now sit back and relax.

Social:

22 Dec 2014 09:30

Mum's the word with Alex Brocklesby

A LOT of my non-mum friends ask me what to expect from motherhood and wonder how life changes. I’ll tell you a story and let you make up your own mind.

Social:

18 Dec 2014 09:30

Fun and games while trying to breastfeed a three-month-old in public wearing a bodycon dress...

A LOT of my non-mum friends ask me what to expect from motherhood and wonder how life changes. I’ll tell you a story and let you make up your own mind.

Social:

15 Dec 2014 09:30

The Reluctant Runner

SO I have been told you learn a lot about yourself when in training for something big like the London Marathon.

Social:

29 Oct 2014 09:30

Europe essay prize is a great winter challenge

For any enterprising student who’s dreamed of being able to seriously expand his or her horizons the new eye-catcher offer agreed between Berlin-based travel experts GoEuro and the University of Reading is surely too good to ignore.

Social:

News Archives | Search

Not find what you were looking for? You can filter this section using the links below.